28
Jun
07

Death is so Mysterious

It seems that the more actualized we become, the more proximate we are to death.

From the summer of ’03, when we began delivery of G2 Hellcats, until December 15, 2006, one gentleman created the nervous system of each machine. His name was Chris Roberts. He was gunned down Father’s Day in New Orleans by some punk stealing his bike.

Chris made the post-Katrina event transition from New Orleans to Birmingham. While in Alabama, he had a beautiful daughter. Father’s Day was his first as a father.

As I write, I hold his letter of resignation, dated December 6, 2006, in my hand. It declares that “after much difficult consideration, my family has made the decision to return to New Orleans on the 22nd of December for personal reasons.” He goes on, “I will always be proud to have been a part of something so exceptional.” Further, “I will gladly offer my services in whatever capacity I may.”

I had a bad feeling about this decision. Obviously, those feelings were justified.

Chris was a man I much admired. He possessed absolute courage. When he decided to act, he did so with full conviction. He invested 100% of his emotional being together with his cerebral and physical powers. He never failed to complete a delegated assignment on time, fully documented to specification. Chris avoided even the appearance of duplicity, hypocrisy or dishonesty. He never misled or deceived. It gives me immense satisfaction to write the following, to wit: Chris Roberts’ life personified transparent, honest, straight-forward truth.

Chris was a cool looking young man yet was entirely devoid of vanity. His tastes were simple. He was humble. He was smart. He methodically self-educated. He was emotionally intelligent. He possessed an open caring heart. He was non-judgmental. He enjoyed deep ideological and philosophical conversation. He loved his family. He loved his friends. He loved his daughter. He loved his girl.

About three weeks ago I called him and whined about Wraith wiring architecture. He dropped everything and came straight over. He stayed in the cheapest hotel, worked round the clock, did his usual exemplary work and made his usual minimal consideration request of about 2/3s of what his efforts were worth.

Late one afternoon we had a chance to catch up. Chris told me about a euphoric moment of extreme glee which he had very recently experienced while completing his daily assignments at his New Orleans job. With great vividity, Chris illuminated the heightened sense of extreme happiness which both overcame and overwhelmed him on the evening in question. He spoke with heartfelt passion about the depth of his love for his daughters and his girl. He declared that being back home in New Orleans with his beloved family gave him fulfillment and an overall sense of actualization beyond his hopes and dreams. Next, Chris declared, that for an inkling it occurred to him that it was all too good to be true.

Chris, writing for your present and your past Confederate teammates, we love ya. We’re going to win a land speed record this fall in your honor. We will never forget the last time some punk in New Orleans shot you; you dressed the wound yourself and came to work the very next day!

Chris Roberts; Well Done!
The Times Picayune article from Friday, June 29 2007

(Chris reminded us of the young guy in this infamous photo)

19 Responses to “Death is so Mysterious”


  1. 1 Mark Roberts
    June 28, 2007 at 6:06 pm

    Thank you so much for your wonderful words and kind tribute to Chris on your website. I miss my son, and he missed all of you very much. He loved being with you all, and talked about it all the time. I remember how he said he just came to hang around and learn until someone finally said, “Why don’t we just hire this guy”. You were a very special part of his life, and I thank each of you for it.
    Chris’s Dad,
    Mark Roberts

    • October 18, 2009 at 9:46 pm

      This whole thing has touched me very much! All I wanted to do is find out more Information on Buying one of your Beautiful Creations ( Motorcycle) and Wow ! I’ve just experienced so much more. Very Moving! Your storys about Chris make me feel like a childhood of mine meanwhile In all actuality I never new the Guy! I’m Speechless and this moment has been Priceless. By the way I will be reaching out to you soon for my Purchase. Please design me a Special Edition ” Chris Roberts ” Wraith!!!!!! Thanks ~ Gene

  2. 3 Dumas
    June 29, 2007 at 5:59 am

    as a long-time friend of Chris, thank you for helping him live on…..

  3. 4 Jeanette
    June 29, 2007 at 6:17 am

    Beautiful! Love you guys!
    Jeanette, Siobhan, and Aoife

  4. 5 amy wood
    June 29, 2007 at 7:30 am

    this was so very touching.thank you.

  5. 6 Karen Inabinet
    June 29, 2007 at 4:24 pm

    I worked with Chris for a few years in New Orleans, and I will never forget him. Chris taught me how to ride a motorcycle, Chris showed me how to get back into school after many years away, and Chris showed me that a guy covered in tatoos can have more manners than a debutant. I miss you Chris, I miss running errands for work on your bike with you, and I will miss the way you always, without fail, called me Ms. Karen.

  6. 7 c campbell
    June 30, 2007 at 11:35 am

    I am saddened to read of this senseless, needless tragedy.

    I am going to hug my girl tightly when she gets home. I am going to call my best friend and tell him he is amazing.

    He rides with the legends now, God bless his loved ones.

    Shame on the the punk bullies, how could they ever know love and his kind of accomplishment?

  7. 8 dora
    June 30, 2007 at 7:41 pm

    friends at confederate –

    i mourn the loss of chris and weep at the savagery and senselessness of new orleans along with you. i am honored to have met chris during my 2 trips to birmingham last year. we had some fun talking about motorcycle racing. this is awful – it is a sad day.

    sadly,
    Dora Fang
    (in Beijing)

  8. 9 Drunah
    June 30, 2007 at 7:52 pm

    If anyone would like to donate to the family:

    Aoife Bennett-Roberts Fund
    Whitney Bank
    P.O. Box 61260
    New Orleans, LA. 70161-1260
    or any Whitney Bank Branch

  9. 10 A'dawg
    June 30, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    For all that is holy and for all men like him, bless them and know Chris Robert’s will live on forever in our hearts ….

  10. 11 A. C. Alford
    June 30, 2007 at 9:53 pm

    I found this blog through the New Orleans LiveJournal. Thank you for posting a wonderful tribute to a man who died far too soon, another victim of the madness that has taken over New Orleans…

  11. July 2, 2007 at 9:30 am

    We are saddened by this news in the Uk
    and our thoughts go to his family and friends
    Bikers around the world are horrified by this story
    Love and Respect
    Pat Savage
    President
    Streetfighters Owners Club

  12. 13 Kyle Roberts
    July 5, 2007 at 7:36 am

    I will always look up to you for your approval and acceptance…your little brother, Kyle

  13. 14 Tiffany Jones
    July 9, 2007 at 10:40 pm

    Chris was very blessed to have such wonderful friends surrounding him. He was an awesome big brother and would have done anything for his family and friends. Although he will be greatly missed, I know he will live on through his daughter and through the wonderful memories we all have of him. Thank you to everyone for sharing your thoughts of Chris and helping him to live on in each of us.
    Love, his little sis, Tiffy

  14. 15 Rebecca Roberts
    July 10, 2007 at 1:17 pm

    “Live and love today like there’s no tomorrow.” No one did this better than my brother, Christopher. He was by far one of the most proper, generous, and loving people I have ever had in my life. Although he’s no longer with us, I know he’s in a better place and will continue watching over all of his friends and family. Thank you to everyone for all of your stories, memories and support during this sad time. I love you, brother. Always, Becca (your lil’ sis)

  15. August 10, 2007 at 10:43 am

    News took sometime to reach me in the Netherlands but never the less I was shocked to a standstill when I found out.
    Spent many a night enjoying a beer with Chris talking bikes amongst other things.
    I know he will be missed certainly I am deeply saddened .
    My heart goes out to his family and friends

  16. 17 Amie Bice
    August 20, 2007 at 7:31 pm

    Christopher was one of the best friends I have ever made in my life,always picking up where we had left off after his move to New Orleans. Always with an ear to listen to my troubles, able to make it all get better by speaking the truth to me. I will miss him forever. Thank you for words, they are so true.

    Amie Bice

  17. 18 blair connell
    June 14, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    it’s been 1 year i hope you have peace in your heart and can watch over your family from a better place. you wont be forgotten ……………………

  18. 19 Michael Knapp
    October 2, 2009 at 3:22 pm

    Thank you for your tribute to Chris.  The example he lived touched me.  I hope that I am able to leave the same kind of legacy.  God has a special place for people like Chris.


Leave a Reply

